Golden Cauliflower Soup

Vegan cauliflower soupOh my goodness.  It’s just been one of those weeks!  Time has flown by, and I’ve gotten maybe half of the tasks I wanted to do done.  With wedding planning in full swing, I don’t think my stress levels can get any higher.  I’m really looking forward to the school year ending, so at least one source of stress can go into hiding for a few months.  Only 5 more weeks to go!

Since I haven’t had very much time on my hands, I can assure you that the vegan-friendly cooking in my house has been extremely limited!  I’ve been making lots of smoothies and salads, and of course my standby soups.  I always have a large batch of soup in my fridge, as well as a large container of pre-cooked lentils for easy dinners.  So I figured now would be as good a time as any to share a recipe for one of my favorite soups.  It’s one of Dr. Fuhrman’s soup recipes, adapted a little bit for my own tastes and supplies at home.  This soup is amazingly good.  I was so hesitant when I made it, but the cashew cream makes the world of difference.  I hope you enjoy it!

Vegan cauliflower soup

Ingredients:
1 head cauliflower, cut into pieces
3 carrots, coarsely chopped
1 cup coarsely chopped celery
2 zucchini, coarsely chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 cups vegetable stock (original recipe calls for carrot juice)
4 cups water
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1 cup raw cashews or 1/2 cup raw cashew butter
5 cups baby spinach

Instructions:

Place all the ingredients except the cashews and spinach in a pot. Cover and simmer for 30 minutes or until the vegetables are just tender.

In a food processor or high-powered blender, blend two-thirds of the soup liquid and vegetables with the cashews until smooth and creamy. Return to the pot and stir in the spinach. Cook until heated through.  I’ve also added white beans to this soup when I need some beans, and it’s quite tasty.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Main dish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Golden Cauliflower Soup

  1. Wedding planning is stressful – I remember those days. And I hear you with it being hard to cook plant-based when you’ve got a lot going on. Sometimes I wish I had a personal chef! Hey, maybe you should ask for a personal chef for a wedding gift – wouldn’t that be great!! This soup looks fab, so I’d say you’re doing a great job with managing it all. Celeste 🙂

Leave a comment